_____ I Got My 3,000th Hit Today_____ Still No Word From The Hall of Fame

 

                                                                                                                                                                           I hung close to my phone all day long – but, in vain. 

I didn’t know if I would be getting a call from the Commissioner or from the Chairman of Veteran’s Committee.  It didn’t matter.  I didn’t get a call from either one.  Instead, I felt what it was like to have been Roger Maris – or, now, poor Ron Santo.

I’m still trying to figure it out.  I’ve heard my whole life that 3,000 hits is definitely the ticket to the Hall – same as 500 homers. 

Maybe, that’s my problem – I haven’t hit enough home runs.   I’ll keep swinging though.

I’m hoping that in a week or so that I’ll pass Pete Rose and his 4,256 hits.  Maybe then I’ll get some recognition.

On the other hand, maybe I’m playing the wrong game, to wit:

Hits by the immortal portal of DRUDGE @ 4/27/10

027,282,856 IN PAST 24 HOURS
770,547,825 IN PAST 31 DAYS
8,173,005,824 IN PAST YEAR

I think he’s just bragging.

Published in: on April 27, 2010 at 1:27 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://funks2.wordpress.com/2010/04/27/_____-i-got-my-3000th-hit-today_____-still-no-word-from-the-hall-of-fame/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment